Aimovig for migraines

I had severe chronic migraines for 50 years. Last July I started taking Aimovig, a once a month self-injection. I started with 70 mg. but after about 4 months my Mayo neurologist upped it to 149mg. My results have been miraculous. I have no more headaches. None. I can eat and drink anything. I have my life back. Aimovig was the first injection on the market. I have no experience with others.

16 Likes

I meant 140 mg.

4 Likes

I am glad you finally have relief. This is one of the options my Neurologist is looking at for me … I have had a non-stop migraine for over 28 months. Currently, I am on Memantine, but I am still waking up every day with the migraine which worsens as the day goes on. I have pretty much lost my life … when I do go out it is with two pairs of sunglasses and earplugs, and that is for appointments. I lost my job because I cannot look at a computer screens and I am a program analyst. This app is on my phone which is the only device I can turn down low enough that I can still see things. I can only be on here for short periods of time, though, even with the dim screen. It is wearing on my mental state and getting really old!!!

6 Likes

I am so sorry to hear that. I don’t know anything about your neurologist, but maybe you should get a second opinion. Your situation sounds unusual to me. I can’t even begin to imagine your life. I think that the longest headache I ever had was about 10 days. They used an infusion to stop it. I’m fortunate to go to Mayo Clinic. Good luck.

5 Likes

Thank you. Actually this is the third Neurologist I have been to - the second one was from Cleveland Clinic which has the same reputation as Mayo Clinic, but I live an hour and a half from Cleveland so the daily treatments they wanted to do was not possible. I have to say this last Neuroligist I am seeing is the first one who has actually listened to me, and is realizing I really cannot work like this so is really trying to help.

4 Likes